new Steering Wheel - Audi Q3 Forum
User Tag List

 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 07-02-2016, 05:01 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Cool new Steering Wheel

I bought a new SLine steering wheel for my Audi Q3. The airbag i used from my actual steering wheel. installation was very easy just remove the airbag and you have only one screw to remove it. The problem was that the steering commands and gear padels didn`t work. Maybe they should be coded but i didn`t find anything in vcds, so i remove the steering commands and gear padels from the old steering (it was a little tricky) and put them in the new steering wheel and everything worked perfect !
Here is the Result :
rnlabas, Ohio Joe and harrsha like this.
litchi is offline  
post #2 of 20 Old 07-04-2016, 12:28 PM
Super Moderator
 
rnlabas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greenville, SC - USA
Posts: 2,390
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 607 Post(s)
Garage
Very nice ...


- Roger
_______________________________________


2014 R8 V10+ 6MT, Daytona Gray Pearl/Black w/Diamond Stitching
2015 Q3 2.0 Quattro Prestige S-line, Tundra/Chestnut
2016 TTS, Nano/Express Red
rnlabas is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 07-04-2016, 03:14 PM
Member
 
InnyAudi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Alexandria VA
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Looks great!

2016 Q3 2.0 Quattro Prestige S-line, Cortina White/Rock Gray/Walnut Inlays
InnyAudi is offline  
 
post #4 of 20 Old 07-05-2016, 03:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Was it easy to swap the buttons and all of that ?! Nonetheless that is super cool man, good job !

Bryan
Livin' the dream, Don't wake me up just yet
Klassic is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 07-05-2016, 10:23 PM
Super Moderator
 
rnlabas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greenville, SC - USA
Posts: 2,390
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 607 Post(s)
Garage
You can recode the new steering wheel, as the only difference is the serial number on your buttons and the label file associated with it. In fact, in this case I think you only really need to do is clear the DTC that resulted from disconnecting the it (with/while the new set is connected of course). Now that you have the original ones back in, the module thinks it was only disconnected and then reconnected (still prolly has the DTC) but with the new set, the original set was "missing."


- Roger
_______________________________________


2014 R8 V10+ 6MT, Daytona Gray Pearl/Black w/Diamond Stitching
2015 Q3 2.0 Quattro Prestige S-line, Tundra/Chestnut
2016 TTS, Nano/Express Red
rnlabas is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 07-05-2016, 10:27 PM
Super Moderator
 
rnlabas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greenville, SC - USA
Posts: 2,390
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 607 Post(s)
Garage
I put almost the exact wheel (mine is full 'air' - perforated all around) in my Q3 almost 2 years ago and never switched button or paddles ...


- Roger
_______________________________________


2014 R8 V10+ 6MT, Daytona Gray Pearl/Black w/Diamond Stitching
2015 Q3 2.0 Quattro Prestige S-line, Tundra/Chestnut
2016 TTS, Nano/Express Red
rnlabas is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 07-10-2016, 04:14 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
I reset all DTC but the same error.
litchi is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 07-11-2016, 10:48 AM
Super Moderator
 
rnlabas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greenville, SC - USA
Posts: 2,390
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 607 Post(s)
Garage
Then I think you have a different button set or connector pin-out ...


- Roger
_______________________________________


2014 R8 V10+ 6MT, Daytona Gray Pearl/Black w/Diamond Stitching
2015 Q3 2.0 Quattro Prestige S-line, Tundra/Chestnut
2016 TTS, Nano/Express Red
rnlabas is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 10-21-2016, 10:54 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
I had a weird call with my parts department asking if they knew what part would fit. He wouldn't give me a part number, and said he couldn't guarantee if it would fit. Is there a part number for this? is this common dealer practice?
Remesar is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 10-29-2016, 07:51 AM
Super Moderator
 
rnlabas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greenville, SC - USA
Posts: 2,390
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 607 Post(s)
Garage
Well, first - I think EVERY current steering wheel will fit - the splines are the same from an A3 to an R8 - that said though, the button options are MANY, and THAT's where the tricky bits are. Second, not all button sets fit every wheel, cuz while the splines are the same, the wheels themselves are a bit varied and the trim is too.

Whew, now that I've covered the basics, here's the easy part. First - check the airbag and be SURE your'e looking at a wheel that has the same size and shape - be careful, round is NOT round is NOT round. There are side profile differences and diameters to be certain of. Second, check the button sets (and paddles or not) - be SURE that they are the same too-

If all of the above is the same or as close as you can tell, then you are 100% certain it will fit, and 99% certain that it will work as well. Lastly, as some above have noted, you will prolly need to have your new buttons (and paddles if you have/want them) coded - because the car (at J519) will see these as different - by serial number not just part number). If you transfer your old buttons (and paddles) then you may just have to clear a disconnect fault, and not recode.


- Roger
_______________________________________


2014 R8 V10+ 6MT, Daytona Gray Pearl/Black w/Diamond Stitching
2015 Q3 2.0 Quattro Prestige S-line, Tundra/Chestnut
2016 TTS, Nano/Express Red
rnlabas is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Audi Q3 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



  Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Steering Wheel rubbing noise? Q3User Audi Q3 General Discussion 7 02-24-2016 07:12 PM
Does the prestige come with heated steering wheel ? zzrobot Audi Q3 General Discussion 12 11-12-2015 11:53 AM
SET button next to the steering wheel sg678 Audi Q3 General Discussion 4 04-25-2015 09:23 PM
S-Line flat-bottom Steering Wheel rnlabas Interior 17 04-10-2015 04:54 PM
Flat Bottom Steering Wheel CocoPops Interior 4 01-17-2015 10:43 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off