HomeLink installed on Q3 from Audi - Audi Q3 Forum
User Tag List

 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 58 Old 04-19-2015, 08:48 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
HomeLink installed on Q3 from Audi

Hi all,

Just got my Q3 today. I just got it home, and was excited to use the homelink that comes installed in the car. However, I didn't see anything on the menu. I tried doing what I found on Google, but nothing seemed to work.

Does anyone know where I can find any documentation on getting it setup?

Thanks in advance.
kniteshift is offline  
post #2 of 58 Old 04-19-2015, 09:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kniteshift View Post
Hi all,

Just got my Q3 today. I just got it home, and was excited to use the homelink that comes installed in the car. However, I didn't see anything on the menu. I tried doing what I found on Google, but nothing seemed to work.

Does anyone know where I can find any documentation on getting it setup?

Thanks in advance.
I would suggest asking your salesman, or you could do some research on the homelink website. (www.homelink.com).

BTW...You're prob the first one here to have homelink install from the dealer.
MPBQ3 is offline  
post #3 of 58 Old 04-19-2015, 11:44 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MPBQ3 View Post
I would suggest asking your salesman, or you could do some research on the homelink website. (www.homelink.com).

BTW...You're prob the first one here to have homelink install from the dealer.
Sorry, I meant to say that it came built with the car. I didn't actually buy the unit have it installed.

And thanks!
kniteshift is offline  
 
post #4 of 58 Old 04-20-2015, 05:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kniteshift View Post
Sorry, I meant to say that it came built with the car. I didn't actually buy the unit have it installed.

And thanks!
I understood that. That's why I also said to ask your salesman or refer to the homelink web site.
MPBQ3 is offline  
post #5 of 58 Old 04-20-2015, 10:58 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: AZ
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Garage
I got instructions with my manual

There was laminated card/page that was with my manuals.
I followed the directions and they did not seem to work and then all of sudden the homelink started working so I can't say the directions helped much.
ktraveler is offline  
post #6 of 58 Old 04-21-2015, 11:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 916
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Too bad Audi doesn't have customer service reps on forums like General Motors!
Quatto is offline  
post #7 of 58 Old 04-22-2015, 10:06 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MPBQ3 View Post
I understood that. That's why I also said to ask your salesman or refer to the homelink web site.
My comprehension was off. I got it to work from the homelink website.

Thanks again!
kniteshift is offline  
post #8 of 58 Old 04-23-2015, 09:02 AM
Member
 
rs4guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Garage
I too have homelink on my 15', the dealer should have given you a brochure with directions to code the opener, mine did. Either way it's very simple and can be found online as well.

My sales rep mentioned my Q3 was the first he's seen with homelink.

15' Monsoon grey/blk Q3 prestige w/homelink (stock)

08' (matte)Daytona grey RS4 Ti (many mods)
rs4guy is offline  
post #9 of 58 Old 07-14-2015, 09:58 AM
Super Moderator
 
rnlabas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greenville, SC - USA
Posts: 2,412
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 615 Post(s)
Garage
btw, y'all should see the special tool kit (~$800) to install the Homelink module in our cars (& A3) - the kit is REAL GERMAN over-engineered stuff - all looking very handcrafted. First a special plastic bracket to "replace" the overhead console, consisting of a curved plate with brackets and braces and about a hundred screws bolting the whole shebang together. It has a part that hangs off the side like a pontoon on a Polynesian canoe, that has three holes placed in parallel to the plate/console.

Once the bracket is in place, you use a small hand tool punch (with serrated teeth) to drill/punch 3 holes guided by the pontoon template. Once the 3 holes are punched through the headliner, you then take a special cutting block that has a rectangular punch blade (with teeth too) that has 3 sleeves (one with a bolt thru it) that is guided thru the 3 punched holes with a chunk of nylon on the back side - all bolted thru.

You screw down on the bearing bolt and the punch blade cuts thru the headliner into the block behind it - making a perfect rectangle for the Homelink kit to snap thru and into a exact right place relative to the bracket/console every time. It IS elaborate overkill, but very German, very precise, very perfect and much appreciated - and almost no one could screw it up.

The kit is then wired with an intra-connect harness with a power takeoff from the overhead console wiring and presto - that's done. Very nice, works well - just $300 for what could otherwise be found for about $50 or less - I must say though that even Mito gets about the same (maybe $200) for their new kits, And the Audi one is nicely illuminated has matching (to other Audi stuff) buttons too.

I bet there are but 50 or less of those installation kits around the whole world though ...


- Roger
_______________________________________


2014 R8 V10+ 6MT, Daytona Gray Pearl/Black w/Diamond Stitching
2015 Q3 2.0 Quattro Prestige S-line, Tundra/Chestnut
2016 TTS, Nano/Express Red
rnlabas is online now  
post #10 of 58 Old 07-14-2015, 09:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
$800....that's nuts.

Had the Homelink installed on my 2015 for $250 (aftermarket).
MPBQ3 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Audi Q3 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



  Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacement of Mirror with HomeLink version rnlabas Interior 7 01-14-2017 11:09 AM
What? NO Seat Memory, NO HomeLink for US/NA rnlabas Interior 12 04-24-2015 09:38 AM
HomeLink for the Q3 rnlabas Electronics and Audio 37 04-18-2015 08:58 PM
Q3 Arriving/HomeLink News JohnJ Audi Q3 Owners Check-In Area 3 03-09-2015 04:57 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off