Audi Q3 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone.

I have seen a lot of posts that provide some information about how to invoke the MMI green menu options. Some of the posts show code other recommend hardware while youtube vids show different consoles and buttons I do not have. I appreciate there may not be information on the 2016 model yet but was hoping someone may have it and could guide me to what I need and where to start.

Thank you in advance.
Matt
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,484 Posts
Hey Matt and welcome to the forum - hope you come back often to check things out. The MMI system in the 2016 Q3 is the same as 2015 so you can use the same techniques listed here ...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you Rodger.

I called Ross-Tech and they advised some points I could not confirm anywhere else.

* There is no other method to get to the hidden menu on a q3 (that is the only car we spoke about) without a VSDC solution, cable or dongle (Hex-Net)

*His (Santos was his name) suggested the only option was to use the hex-net choice which is 450 smackeroos. It is good to hear you have successfully used a different cable.

I am only looking to do this the once to change some options so was hoping to find a place to rent one rather than buy one and resell it. I may be wrong but I imagine there a strong second-hand market for these and a few for sale due to one-time use requirements.

Any thoughts on where to get a second-hand option like yours to rent or buy?

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,
B
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,484 Posts
For 2015 models, you can use the Micro-CAN cable, not cheap, but cheaper than Hex-NET. For some 2016 models though there were some running changes in some of the control modules that cannot connect to the Micro-CAN, hence making the Hex-NET (which updates the interface ROM live) the only choice. This will very soon (and already is for most 2017 models) be the ONLY choice. I have both the Hex-CAN and Hex-NET, but CANNOT recommend ANY other (than R-T) interfaces that "supposedly" work with VCDS. Ross-Tech is VERY pro-active to protect THEIR interface and software development and frankly I support them.

There are however other choices too (e.g. Carista) that do NOT infringe on R-T firmware and may be useful to you - but I cannot comment on their success with either the green menu or ESI resets. btw, using the green menu for almost anything other than curiosity can be hazardous to your car - perhaps in many ways more so than misusing VCDS - which I hope EVERYONE who reads this - READS about back-ups !!!

For checking on used genuine R-T interfaces/cables, usually they show up in Audi forums first, then sometimes on ebay - BUT ebay usually has just the pirated copies, as the real deals do not last long in the Audi community. Know also that for you to get support from R-T, you'll have to pay them a hardware transfer fee - but the device will still update on it's own. They WILL know where it's at by IP though and when it's used or updated ...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Roger, you are exceptionally informative and helpful, thank you.

My conclusion is now set.

Considering my ownership duration of the car, it is worth buying the hex cable directly from Ross-Tech, I will support them.

I do not plan to tinker, I know the changes I want to make.

You provide a true service Roger, please affix a justified smile to your boat race.

Cheers, Matt
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Oh, and I know the value of backups and that point is well made.

One final question, Does the use of this show-up at a dealer under service or invalidate anything with audi?

Thank you in advance.

Matt
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,484 Posts
Not for this kind of stuff - Audi CAN (and sometimes does) run a scan of actual vs specified (at delivery plus authorized), where these codes will show up. But for the most part many of the changes shown on our pages are codes Audi themselves use in other countries and do not affect warranty issues. That being said though, depending on where you are and your state's inspection and approval requirements, you can run afoul - BUT that's also pretty highly unlikely.

For example, the DOT wants you to have a seat-belt reminder chime, but if you disable it by changing the code in VCDS to be like what some others have (no chime), you're NOT likely to fail any state inspection in the US, even though a few states have them on their list because of the DOT. They usually just don't check them. And Audi WILL know IF they do a scan, but just because you disabled it, it won't affect the warranty on other parts of your car, nor would they hardly care about your seat-belt chime...

ditto for most of the others too -
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Ok, so my Cans cable arrived and to be honest this is all a bit daunting for the first time.

I looked up loads of vids and am reading the manual but I have some questions some people may help me with.

First thing I did was scan the car and copy the output to a file and email it to myself so I have the original detail saved and backed up on the interweb.

I found varying information regarding codes and mods, mostly for different years and cars so pinning down what works for a 2016 q3 is not straight forward.

My first action was to unlock the green screen menu.

I found information that state 5F is the code and to change the value to 1. I followed the instructions, testing the usb port and saving first.

I read the 06 value and it returned 0 and I updated that to 1, tested it, it was fine, saved it, confirmed I wanted to save it and exiting out all down to removing the cable and turning the car off an restarting it. I tried holding Menu and Car together for 5 seconds and no wonderful green screen menu.

I loaded the cable back on and fired up vcds and checked the value and the little blighter was a 0 again.

I tried a few reads and changes and it always flicks back to 0.

Now I am questioning if I have MMI and there is no clear way to tell. I do have a socket to connect the phone to and it will navigate from Waze so I thought I did, can anyone advise how I tell?

Now when I went it to the vcds software I scanned it again to see if anything came up and 5F did.

Here is a snipit
1 Fault Found:

03157 - Functionality limited due to Communications Disruption
000 - - - Intermittent
Freeze Frame:
Fault Status: 00100000
Fault Priority: 6
Fault Frequency: 5


So now I am concerned.

Do I remove the fault and run again?
How do I fix the fault?
If I do not have mmi can I do these changes?

I am stopping before I do anything else and really would love some guidance.

If anyone is prepared to chat, please private message me and I will send my mobile number.

Thanks in advance,
Matt
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I have discovered I have the Audi RMS Nav Plus system rather than MMI.

I imagine that mean no green menu. Equally I imagine that coding is different too.

Now I am unsure how to progress.

Thanks in Advance,
Matt
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Top